Music To My Ears :: Sweet Note Desserts

sweet note desserts cafe signsweet note desserts display tablesweet note desserts macaron displaysweet note desserts milk bottle displaysweet note desserts vanilla soufflesweet note desserts macarons lattesweet note desserts milk bottlesweet note desserts chocolate soufflesweet note desserts green tea lattesweet note desserts cafepink-location-iconLocation :: Markham, Canada

Have you ever noticed as you grow older a birthday slowly becomes a birthday month? With friends and family currently living in different cities on different schedules, March ends up being a month of birthday celebrations with groups of friends celebrating on various days to make up for the actual date. Coming back on the same weekend before my birthday, my closest group of girlfriends and I decided to have a sweet afternoon at a café I’ve been itching to try for quite some time: Sweet Note Desserts.

Not knowing what to expect, I was eager to try a bit of everything, especially the French soufflés. You see, Mama Tse is a huge soufflé fan (and the biggest soufflé critic), so this trip was kind of a test to see if it was worthy for her to come in. While one friend ordered the chocolate flavour with mango dressing, I opted for the vanilla with passion fruit coulis on the side. However, after a couple of spoons with the sauce, I ditched it. I much preferred the soufflé to stand on its own. Though I haven’t had many in my lifetime, I found it a tad too sweet to my liking, but liked how the texture and density was light and fluffy.

While we were waiting for the soufflés to bake (approximately a half hour wait time), we made our way to the counter to see what other delicious sweets were encased in the glass display. From cupcakes to macarons to milk bottles to the featured cake of the day, it was a feast before our eyes. A macaron devotee, there was no question I grabbed a green tea macaron to pair with my green tea latte. Though it wasn’t mind-blowing (I’ve already dubbed Pierre Hermé as the king of macarons), Sweet Note has definitely made it to one of the top spots on my Toronto macaron list (below Nadège Patisserie, of course). It was not too sweet, a nice balance between filling and meringue and bursted with authentic green tea flavour. Now, no birthday celebration is complete without an overdose of sugar. Mesmerized by the colourful milk bottle dessert display, my one friend and I decided to try it (a matcha green tea pudding for her and the Café Baileys for me). The best part is you can take the milk bottle home as a souvenir. Score!

Simple white furniture, exposed brick walls and colour accent from the dessert itself complete the cute environment. With cupcakes, meringue cakes and mocha bites still left to try, I know I’ll be making a second trip here soon with the sister to indulge in the rest of the menu.

Thanks for reading!

Till next time,

aqua blue tse parfait

Sweet Note Desserts (map here)
Commerce Gate, Unit 61-63
505 Highway 7 East,
Markham, Ontario
Canada
t: 905.877.9338
h: 2 PM to 10:30 PM (Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday); 2 PM to 11:30 PM (Friday and Saturday) [Closed on Tuesdays]
4 comments

    1. Oh, you definitely need to go back for a second trip! They are worth a try and hope you like them as much as I do. It’s so nice to have a go-to macaron place up in Richmond Hill. 🙂

Leave a Reply

