Coffee x Coffee :: Omotesando Koffee

tokyo omotesando koffee coffee shop signtokyo omotesando koffee shop logo

After being introduced to Kinfolk magazine a year ago, I came across an online city guide for Tokyo’s top five cafés. As a girl who loves coffee and is always on the hunt to try the best café in the neighbourhood, you can see why I’d be determined to locate them all during my visit. Unfortunately, with time for only one, I decided on (hardest decision of my life, not really. But really) Omotesando Koffee.

tokyo omotesando koffee wind chimetokyo omotesando koffee coffee menu

About a 12 minute walk from the Harajuku train station, the café is located in this quiet upper class neighbourhood away from the buzzy part of town. If it weren’t for the small groups of people entering the coffee shop, we would have passed right by it. Nestled between two houses with only a minimalist iron square sign (the square is kind of a theme here – from the coffee counter to the custard cubed treats) planted outside the doorway, the coffee shop is tucked in this traditional Japanese house complete with tatami flooring, a bonsai and a ceramic wind chime. With only a small garden area for guests to seat outdoors (unfortunately there is no indoor seating), Omotesando Koffee gives off this idea of welcoming guests to one’s home for a cup of coffee. It’s the perfect shopping pit-stop.

tokyo omotesando koffee custard cubes

tokyo omotesando koffee baristo

Dressed in a lab coat, the ever so polite Eiichi Kunitomo, Omotesando Koffee‘s owner, was the one behind the counter when we dropped by. From your basic cappuccino to something with a more kick (I’m looking at you Bailey’s Cappuccino), the coffee kiosk offered quite a selection of hot and cold beverages. While I would have loved to be more adventurous, I opted just for a latte and a cappuccino (I know…boring!), so I have an idea of where it stands on my list. I wish I can explain in words how amazing this cup of latte was. Being silky smooth, the milk and espresso were one and it didn’t have that roasted/burnt taste I experience with many other places. To be fair, it could have been the fact that I was really thirsty, or possibly that I love the milk in Japan. But, my sister who doesn’t like the taste of coffee even loved it and that says something.

tokyo omotesando koffee cappuccinotokyo omotesando koffee coffee beanstokyo omotesando koffee cappuccino and lattetokyo omotesando koffee address card

I wish I had the opportunity to go back and try some other drinks on the menu. I definitely regret not hitting up the rest of the cafés on that top five list, but I guess that gives me one of many more excuses to go back soon!

tokyo omotesando koffee shop

pink-location-iconLocation :: Jingumae, Tokyo

Thanks for reading!

Till next time,

aqua blue tse parfait

Omotesando Koffee (map here)
4-15-3 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku
t: 03-5413-9422
10 a.m.–7 p.m. (may close without notice) 
3 comments

Leave a Reply

