Life In Colours :: Nadège Patisserie, Toronto

Hi everybody,
To continue our hunt for our favourite macarons, we decided to pay a visit to a well-recommended and much loved patisserie in Toronto.
Located in a quaint part of Toronto with other cafés and boutiques, Nadège fits right into this part of the neighbourhood. Wish I had the chance to sit on their patio, and bask in the sunlight and enjoy this quieter part of downtown with a cup of coffee and pastries. Unfortunately, not this time. I was on a tight lunch schedule.*
*A little thing you should know about me. When I set my mind to a place I need to go in a specific time span, I set a schedule and think of what to order ahead. That way I don’t waste precious time. Knowing me, a 3 minute decision, can honestly turn into a 20 minute decision if I don’t plan.
Supposed schedule: 10 minute walk (determined to beat whatever google map says), max 15 minute in the store, 10 minute walk back.
Actualization: 14 minute walk (as Google map suggested), 30 minutes in store (there were too many choices!) 15 minute walk back (it was hot and my feet hurt.)
Ever wish you can order the option “a bit of everything?” I don’t know if I was hungry from the walk or the constant inner mental battle of what I could possibly order and should order, but being offered by all these options at Nadège was not good for my health. Ranging from croissants and danish pastries, to their daily baguette sandwiches, to their little cakes, and to their delightful macarons. I wanted it all!  I constantly needed to remind myself to calm down. I know the people behind the counter are just giving me a polite smile. But in their heads, they are wondering, “Why doe her eyes look so crazy!”
Well one thing was for sure. I am not going to leave Nadège without their macarons. Since my sister couldn’t be there with me, she would not be pleased if I came home with empty hands.
Since it was lunch, it only made sense to grab a sandwich right? But should I order something sweet or savoury? I really shouldn’t get both. Savoury it is. Now which sandwich? Their fig and brie sandwich looked good, but I’m a girl who needs a bit of meat in her life, so I ended up with their grilled chicken sandwich with swiss cheese and cucumber. It was a really nice. I requested to have it heated up so the cheese would melt a bit. Mmm..best decision ever! Surprisingly not heavy (or was I just really hungry after my long walk back to the office?) The baguette itself was good and made a nice crunching sound as I took my first bite.
Now on to the main focus of this post. (What took so long?) I think it’s safe to say that I think these are one of the best macarons I have tasted in Toronto. As the meringue melted in my mouth bursting with their specified flavours, I knew these were freshly made. I was originally only going to buy 6 macarons, but who wasI kidding. I got the 12 macaron box especially after seeing they had matcha green tea flavour. (We’ve told you our obsession of green tea right?) [here, here, and here] Claude and I usually split our macarons, so we can both taste all the flavours. With green tea, I got one for each of us. We’re not sharing. =)To no one’s surprise, we loved their matcha ones the most. Also hearing that the salted caramel, rose, and cassis (black currant) were the most popular, I got those too, and they tasted especially fresh. We found the meringue and the filling a good ratio because we prefer ones that don’t have too much filling because we actually like the meringue more!
This patisserie won so many Tse Parfait brownie points. That’s right, we’re giving out brownie points. =) I just love it when cafés or patisseries have a white themed decor because then it draws the customers’ whole focus towards their food, and without a doubt, the pastries and cakes at Nadège were beautiful. Minus the sandwiches and pastries, Nadège kind of reminds me of LA’s Lette Macarons. It was also lovely to see Lyon-born pastry chef, Nadège Norian behind the counter with a welcoming smile on her face. Knowing I was going to take some pictures of her lovely pastries, she kindly asked one of her staffs to wipe the glass case for me so my pictures were clearer.Thanks for being so sweet and patient with me! 
The atmosphere is a perfect setting for any sort of customers from families, friends, dates. If I could, I would just waltz right in here everyday to grab a bite to eat. Walking in for the first time turns me into this little girl who had just discovered the most amazing candy factory. Who am I kidding, I’m still that little girl. I can’t wait to take Claude here!
Thanks for reading!
Till next time,
 
Nadège Patisserie 
780 Queen Street West
Toronto, ON
M6J 1G2
t: 416.368.2009
$: $25 for a box of 12 macarons // $9 for a baguette sandwich

27 comments

  1. Oh goodness, I am now dying to visit Toronto! Maybe I can convince my mom to make the trip up one weekend. ^^
    Anyways, I have to say that I’ve never had a legit macaron before – the only ones I’ve ever eaten were from my cousin’s house. I want to visit a shop like this so badly! All the macarons are so colorful and pretty, and mmm, baguettes. They’re the best. I love their texture and the sound they make when you break it open. And I always think “can I have some of everything” whenever I go to a new place! hahah
    ♥ xixia

    1. Yes you should definitely visit Toronto. It’s small but it’s got a bit of everything…<3

      I really hope you get the chance to go to a macaron boutique and try one! It's only a small treat but when we stumble across a really well made macaron…it's the most amazing thing!

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment like always!!! =)

  2. just found your blog and love your aesthetic! and hey i actually just started a new blog. i’d love if you could come check it out and follow, if you like!!

    xo,
    http://www.annacbie.com

    ps: if you do follow, let me know by commenting and leaving your url on my most recent post. then i’ll skip right over to follow you back :]

    1. I know what you mean! I always tell myself they are not worth the cost and swear to myself I will bake them myself…but whenever I come across these colourful treats, I just can’t help myself! =P

      Happy you like the signature! Trying something new~

Leave a comment